Irish Life Dublin Marathon

The race was founded in 1980 by a group led by Noel Carroll, who on returning from watching the New York City Marathon decided Dublin should hold a big city Marathon. In the first year, 2,100 took part but only 1,420 finished. Dick Hooper of Raheny Shamrock’s claimed first place, in a time of 2:16:14. The women’s winner was Carey May who finished in 2:42:11.

The number of people taking part has been increasing since then. In 2016 there will be 20,000 runners. In 2001 the marathon became part of the Dublin Race Series, which includes pre-marathon events of 5 miles, 10 kilometres, 10 miles and half marathon distance over the preceding months, run in the Phoenix Park and Swords. Over 30,000 runners take part in these events every year.